© AIAS and AIA All Rights Reserved

Examination & Licensure

Administered by NCARB, the Architect Registration Examination in (ARE) in the United States is the only part of the Three E's of architecture that is consistent across all U.S licensing jurisdictions (the states and territories). The ARE is offered electronically at testing centers around the country. Each of the exam's divisions may be taken in any order at any time by a candidate who has been deemed eligible to test by a jurisdiction. Some jurisdications might have additional requirements (like an additional oral exam/interview).

Interns are required to pass each division of the Architect Registration Examination (ARE) to satisfy the examination requirement. The ARE is administered on a year-round basis. The divisions of the exam are as follows:

  • Programming Planning & Practice
  • Site Planning & Design
  • Building Design & Construction Systems
  • Schematic Design
  • Structural Systems
  • Building Systems
  • Construction Documents & Services

The content of the ARE is based on the knowledge and skills required of a newly registered architect, practicing independently, to provide architectural services. The ARE evaluates an applicant's competence in the provision of architectural services to protect the public health, safety and welfare. For more information about the ARE, refer to NCARB.